Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

12 sleeps

…to race day. Flip! The nerves are now mounting! 2 oceans – I’ve waited a long time to run this one, let’s hope I get it right. Had a good long run this weekend, felt tong again – and then had a club brunch, where we discussed the run – it made it very hard to swallow – because my heart was in my throat. The club coach brought up my brother, so now people know I have a ‘pedigree’- pity I’m the runt of this litter. Anyway. I have my pacing chart from my boet, and I think I will get it right. 56km is a very long bloody way! We leave for the Western Cape on Saturday – I am looking forward to the break from work. We are dragging my Dad along with us – and will drop him off in Hermanus with my brother – I am also relieved to be ‘off the hook’ in terms of responsibilities for a week. This weekend he seemed to be doing a bit better – but I am very aware of his bad days too – last week I had him on the phone and I could hear the tears in his voice… My big strong dad… A good break may do him the world of good!

 

3 Comments»

  mypaceoflifeblog wrote @

Good luck with the upcoming 2 Oceans

  halberts2014 wrote @

Good luck for the run. Don’t put too much pressure on yourself.
Sometimes the “runt” is the best 😉
Aww, poor Dad. Hopefully a change of scenery will do him good.

  charlie wrote @

you gonna rock it like a rocket


Leave a comment