Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Weekend spin!

…showee! It was hectic!

My weekend started early on Friday morning, when we hit the road to our neighbouring city to sort out our visas for our Scotland trip. It’s quite a palava (no, autocorrect, not a pavlova)- I had a huge file of documents that had to be submitted. The system wasn’t too awful; but there was a bit of a delay that almost drove me crazy – when you are the only people in the facilitation centre and they make you wait and wait and wait for 40 minutes to take your photo and take your fingerprints! (This after they made me remove all the staples from my paperwork – about 37000 of them – ok, so that’s an exaggeration but it was a lot, because there was a lot of evidence they wanted!) Anyway, once that was done we had a yummy lunch with a friend of mine and then it was back home.

Home to the launch of our Wild Women calendar! We had a fun evening, and the calendar is totally awesome! Very tastefully done, very discrete, and some gorgeous photos. I forgot to bring the disc with me to work, so I’ll post a few pictures, and if anyone wants a calendar – let me know – and I’ll see if I can get it posted to you! They’re R150 each and ALL of that goes to our charities, because everyone donated their time and resources.

I managed to get 2 runs in this weekend. Neither of them were pretty – I am struggling at the moment – my calves feel super tight and my hip flexor on the left is niggling. I think an appointment with my chiro and some dry needling are in order. But glad with my mileage – 11km on Saturday and 24 yesterday. Although yesterday was interspersed with tears and lots of stretching. Character building I tell you. Character building.

In other TAFKAD is in town – yay! She’s here for a family wedding and our school reunion – 25 years <insert appropriately horrified emoji her> so nice to see her and catch up!

 

3 Comments»

  halberts2014 wrote @

Nothing like a good Pavlova 🙂
Being in EL, where is the nearest city for you to do your Visas?
Not far behind you in being out of school for 25 years! Wow, seems like just the other day (mind playing wicked tricks)
Have a fabulous week

  Deblet wrote @

I am not admitting how man years I have been out of school let’s just leave it at more than 30!
I can imagine is a shlep getting visas etc when u are in the out laying drops, advantages to living it CT.

  MamaCat wrote @

I went now to make a quick calculation about how long my out of school…it is many years. Good on you for getting through the runs. Scotland sounds exciting. There are certain things that you need to expect from these government services…and you need to prepare yourself and get into a patient mindset.


Leave a Reply

