Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

58

year anniversary. Today would have been my parents 58th anniversary…

A lifetime of love and family. Dad and I both had a weep yesterday, he’s so lost without you; and I can’t fix him. He, like me, is wrapped up in what he perceives other people’s opinions of him to be – I’m a burden, I’m a third wheel, I’m a nuisance; I hate feeling like this. And I keep trying to figure what you would stay to him, how you would have motivated him to pick himself up and rise again. I’ve begged, I’ve pleaded, I’ve nagged; I’m not winning. Mom, help me please…

(This photo was taken of the AYPA (Anglican Young People’s Association), where my parents met – 60 years ago. Pops in the front row, seated on chairs on the far left, and Dawny back row, 6th)

3 Comments»

  halberts2014 wrote @

Aw man, I wish I knew what to say to make you and Dad feel better (Virtual hug)
You look so very much like your Mum

  MamaCat wrote @

Helen is right, you look a lot like your mom. I don’t know how anyone gets over a lifetime. Is there anything he could get into, like a club or group of sorts that will give him something of his own? Not sure it will work though.

  Deblet wrote @

Wow what a lovely picture. It really is tough for the spouse left behind…. Lots of love to you all


Leave a Reply

