Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Umzi watcha

Umzi watsha
khangela phaya
khangela phaya
umlilo, umlilo
Galelamanzi, Galelamanzi!

Jingoes, guys, this is hectic! I am stunned at what I am watching play out on the inter webs before my eyes! Those poor people! That poor town! it must feel like God has abandoned them…

(if you’ve been living under a rock and occasionally pop out to read my blog – Knysna is ablaze, Plett is not far behind and all the bits in between)

I know this is the natural cycle of events, but flip, its really really scary. I spent last night in PE at an OBGYN meeting, and there are also fires raging there, in fact one of the OBGYN’s couldn’t make the meeting, because he was trying to save his property. Last night I struggled to sleep, and I don’t know if it was because the smell of smoke in the air awoke some primordial part of my brain that identified danger. Eventually at 4:45 this morning I gave up trying to sleep and had a shower. The wind made for an extremely tough trip home – it was hectic! But I relaxed, took it easy and stayed safe…

To all of those people fighting fires, wind and high seas today – have courage, be safe.

6 Comments»

  halberts2014 wrote @

Yoh, it is hectic hey. Wilderness is really, really bad, but you know what makes me sad, is that people still tweet racist things while others are losing their homes, animals and even their lives. There is no place for racism when a natural disaster hits.
And the wind is really pumping in PE today. Woke up with a cloud of smoke around the city and ash all over the place. But at least our houses aren’t on fire

  runnermum wrote @

It is heartbreaking.

  Deblet wrote @

Fires are hectic. Praying they get them under control soon so

  MamaCat wrote @

There seem to be such horrible things going on…the drought, the storms, the fire…I feel like we need to make a change, something, anything, things are breaking, or at least being tested.

  halberts2014 wrote @

Mother nature has had enough of us I think

  MamaCat wrote @

Maybe it is the earth protecting itself…the basic principle of population dynamics: environmental resistance.


Leave a Reply

