Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Of birthdays and weather

…so, happy birthday to me; and happy birthday party to my daughter! What a weekend it was! I was a bit of an obsessive weather watcher, and despite a very windswept beach, we found a few sheltered spots and had a great party!

So the weekend went as follows

  • Friday -photoshoot for a calendar that the wild women are putting together as a fundraiser – running around in forests and bushes, diving off jettys into rivers, splashing about – crazy stuff! Then it was home to finish up party stuff – cake was almost finished that evening; biscuits were completed, and other miscellaneous party stuff. Late to bed…
  • Saturday – started with my birthday, and a panicked call from a friend’s husband, she’d fainted in the shower – so a quick dash there to get her all sorted out, then home to get ready for a long day. Thandi started at ballet rehearsals, I ran some chores, then on my way back to fetch her, I tripped on the pavement ending up with skinned and bruised knees, elbow, hands and ego! Witnessed by only an apologetic car guard, I was mortified! Anyway, pulling myself together, fetched the child, and then off to her school’s Games day – what fun and chaos, noise and laughter! And wind… I had my duty at the Stake your Claim, and we had a bumper year with great prizes and a new record with the amount we raised! Then it was home to work, work, work – more baking and the finishing touches to the party stuff. I have to say – it wasn’t much of a birthday! By the end of the evening I was sore and stiff, with all my muscles cramping after my fall!
  • After a not great night in bed, listening to the howling wind, Sunday dawned, yes windy – not ideal for a party on the beach, but anyway, there was no plan B, so we had to make plan A work. We headed off to the beach house nice and early, I stopped at the local spar to buy some bread – I wanted long slices, so as I was getting ready to put the beautiful fresh bread through the slicer the ‘wrong way’ I had the bakery lady shouting that I must stop, the security would help me, to which I replied that I wanted long slices of bread, to make ‘sushi roll sandwiches’; I reckon they are still talking about the crazy lady putting the bread the wrong way through the slicer! You get surprisingly, a lot of sarmies out! With a creamy filling – egg mayo, chicken mayo and cheese spread with ham; they rolled up well and came out beautifully! Anyway, we prepped everything, packed cars and headed to the beach, where we had to make a few executive decisions on where things had to go – we found some sheltered spots, and despite the wind, the kids had a whale of a time – no tears, no drama, delicious food, fun activities, and the best treasure hunt EVER! I had a friend there taking photos, so when I get those I will post them, here are a few I took before things got underway…


The toughest part of the weekend was quite how much I missed my mom. I shed many tears this weekend. Mom, wish you were here to see this beautiful big little girl; she’s a reminder of you every day, when I look into  her eyes and see yours. Her day was awesome – you would have loved it! See you again, second star to the right, straight on until morning!

3 Comments»

  halberts2014 wrote @

Happy birthday ladies!
Diving into rivers, are you nuts! Freezing, brrrr.
Hope your friend is ok after her fall. So scary.
Am I the only one poep scared of those bread machines? I always have to ask someone to cut my bread. Sounds interested though.
Ouchie on the fall but LOL. Funny how we always look around to see who witnessed our clumsiness.
Oh your Mum would be so proud of both her girls.

  MamaCat wrote @

Happy Birthday to the two of you. You must have had such a great birthday when she arrived 6 years ago!
I love the outfits and I think I am sending my request over to you…yesterday my little whispered that he wanted a costume for his birthday please.
Hope you are OK after the fall, sometimes the ouchies turn up a few day later.

  Deblet wrote @

Happy birthday for Saturday.
Amazing how eina you feel after a fall.
Looks like an awesome party well done to you all.
Sure Mom will be missed on all the big occasions so and even the little ones.


Leave a Reply

