Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

gratitude

… after a rough weekend emotionally, I want to show some gratitude.

I went into the weekend in a bad space – heart sore and weary. Weary of a world gone mad. I was tearful knowing that my first Mothers Day without my Dawny was looming. The weather thad turned – it was cold and rainy – appropriate for my mood.

By Saturday afternoon I was virtually catatonic on the couch – everything felt like way too much effort. I couldn’t even join in the superficial banter on my running group’s chat. I knew a run would help, but I couldn’t motivate myself to reply and commit. BC picked up on my reluctance and mood – and arrange to fetch me, so I was in, whether I wanted to be or not – it was raining, I very reluctantly got dressed, and am so glad I got out there and ran, got a bit drizzled upon, but no real drama – ran more hills than I like to, and a while after – quite a while, the sun started to shine (albeit weakly) in my soul. So thanks BC for not accepting my reply, forcing me to get out there and damn well run! Which did make a big difference!(And thanks to the accountant for running with me, and keeping me distracted from all those damn hills!)

 

3 Comments»

  runnermum wrote @

And sometimes running is the only medicine – I made myself go out on Sunday also in terrible conditions to run because I was just too negative.

I’m glad you are feeling better.

  MamaCat wrote @

Ah CB, so sorry…I hope things are looking better this week.

  Deblet wrote @

Ai….sorry this weekend was rough
Glad you got out for a run


Leave a Reply

