Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

The sads

…yesterday turned into a sad day… I finished early at work, so had decided to go and see my friend, Nyami, who is grieving her dad – she heads back to the UK in a day or 2, after helping her mom with all the horrible admin. Her mom lives in a small village about an hour from home. As i arrived I had a panicked call from a GP in town about a suspected abuse case in a young girl, who he wanted me to see. I calmed everyone down and made plans to see them this morning (which I’ve done – all is ok, thankfully), then the afternoon sped by in a time of reminiscing and tears for both of us. It is so hard to loose a parent, despite ill health, despite expectation, despite knowing that full restoration is now theirs. That was heartsore, but so nice to share my journey with her, and her mom.

An almighty storm broke out, and I had to get home, so in driving rain, dramatic lightening and rumbling thunder, I eked my way home. As I got near home I received a message from another patient, with her news that her 2 year old son had been just diagnosed with a very aggressive cancer; bearing in mind she is 2 weeks away from delivering her second baby! I ended up, after all this sadness, on the phone to my (still very broken) dad, in floods of tears.

And then just to round it all out – a very dear couple suffered a miscarriage this morning.

Not sure how much more my heart can bear. I am reassured by the rainy stormy weather that continues though, that somewhere, out there, the universe is raging with me, against all these injustices that I cannot understand…

5 Comments»

  halberts2014 wrote @

OH may, sad indeed. It’s horrible suffering through your own sadness, it must be heart wrenching for you seeing everyone else’s also. So very, very sad. Sorry. Virtual hugs

  runnermum wrote @

So many reasons to be sad. I’m so sorry that you feel like that.
I have to admit that I left work early yesterday to go home and just sit on the couch and feel sorry for myself.

  MamaCat wrote @

It is indeed very sad! I don’t think we can ever fully understand the workings of the universe. Like I told HB this morning, I as the grownup understand things and make decisions that make no sense to him, but I will do it anyway because I do it to make sure he is well. Perhaps the universe works in the same way?

  Deblet wrote @

Big hugs…tough day.
You job has those amazing moments and really sh## ones.Hopr weekend goes well and Happy Mothers Day to you.

  nyamazela wrote @

Thanks for visiting us in our grief and sharing it… these things are far far better done with an old friend, over a cuppa and one of Granny’s famous (so she claims) biscotti.


Leave a Reply

