Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Settling back down

…and it is time! The last few weeks have been crazy, last week was insane at work, so I am hoping that this first full week will be civilised. I am so tired of feeling rushed and anxious about how much I have to do, and how little time I have!

Ok, so this weekend was spent in CT, I was down at a Women’s Health Symposium which was a good meeting. Although I have almost a pathological issue with spending time in lectures when CT awaits me!Anyway, the meeting was worthwhile, and I got to see my friends over some spectacular meals and even got a tiny smudge of shopping in.

The dinners out were at lovely. On Friday night we ate at Thali, an Indian tapas style restaurant. It’s in the heart of vibe Gardens, beautifully decorated and busy! They don’t take bookings, so get in early. The food was delicious – they serve tapas for 2- so you share each course with your table mate – we started with poppadoms and aloo palak, served with a spicy salsa and a curry salt. Then we moved onto a delicious yellow dhal, with a pulled brisket croquette, served with a naan bread; then a fish taco (I think fish taco may be my absolute best way to eat fish!) and seared tuna, and then a delicious tender lamb curry and braised chicken served with curried mushrooms, with basmati rice. Dessert is almost unnecessary, but really, who could miss out – as part of the tapas, you get a cardamon toffee, within a coconut truffle (I love cardamon, its subtle citrusy taste wakes up a tired palate), and then one can order all sorts of other delights – my table tried the pistachio and rosewater kulfi, and the indian bon bons, a collection of beautifully crafted indian flavoured chocolates – yum! Finishing off with some chai tea was the bomb! All in all a taste sensation. I also really liked the fact that the chef and owner was working the room – clearing plates, interacting with diners and other staff, all too often the çelebrity’ chefs don’t do that.

Saturday night saw us head off to an old faithful – we headed noord to The Foodbarn. This has to rate as one of my favourite spots – reliable food, well priced and a lovely atmosphere. (although I did have a few palpitations en route, as we drove along some of the 2 Oceans route!) I started with fish tartare (yellowtail is definitely better raw, than cooked), followed by a mushroom risotto and finished off with a dessert named Mont Blanc, which was a delight – chestnut mousse, chestnut toffee, salted caramel and teeny little meringues – too nice! We drank an unusual varietal with our meal – a Rousanne, which may just become my favourite white wine – fresh, with green apple flavours. The food barn is just lovely, and I have yet to have a bad meal there. Love it!

Sunday I headed home to my beautiful little family – Thandi and I got stuck into her lego, building an enormous castle, and then tried to sort the lego out – flip, she has a lot, and loves it (as do I!) ! I reckon her and I need to tackle all the projects she has, so we can really get it all sorted out. Anyway, it was a lovely way to while away a Sunday afternoon.

Ok, so let’s get this week going, my poor nurse is wondering why I am taking so long between patients!

8 Comments»

  halberts2014 wrote @

I believe CT has become quite the rat race?
All the food sounds just yummy. Thanks for that, I’ll eat my cheese bun now.
Gosh, Lego just takes over the house. Liam loves to carry it all over the place.
Hmm, blogging while there are patients waiting, hehe. Hey, we all blog when we’re supposed to be working.
Have a blessed week.

  charliesbird wrote @

Totally hectic! But discovered the joy of uber!

  charliesbird wrote @

hehe! Sorry about making you hungry! I think I am still full from all that food!

  runnermum wrote @

I absolutely love Lego.
Must make a note about the Foodbarn in Cape Town – I’ll be there again for Two Oceans next year.

  charliesbird wrote @

There are so many places – if I’m back next year – I want to go back to the Pot Luck Club – my absolute favourite!

  MamaCat wrote @

That food sounds amazing! Lego, I am not sure how I feel about it…especially when I step on a piece. Now we have a strict rule about the Lego being restricted to the playmat. I love Lego…and I can sit there playing too.

  charliesbird wrote @

Yip, sometimes Charlie and I~end up playing on for hours, while she goes off and does something else!

  Deblet wrote @

Sounds like you had a great visit in CT.
I’m very happy to be way passed the Lego phase my vacuum was always filled with bits.
I hear you on proper week glad to be back to normal.


Leave a Reply

