Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

watching him

…watching me. guys, my Dad is falling apart, unsurprisingly… But it so hard to watch this happen. Yesterday I got the comment about there being nothing left to live for. I’m not sure how one is supposed to respond to that…

There isn’t an answer, I guess; I tried to remind him that he is indeed blessed, and that there are things to live for, even if Dawny isn’t there. I popped in last night, reminded him how to use the microwave, heated up a woolies instant meal, and made him sit down and eat it. I always thought my mom was the stubborn one – I’m realising he’s pretty hard headed too! I’ve convinced him to come away with us for the long weekend, but I can see his reluctance and general depression just getting him down. I hope he has a decent break with us, and in the quiet of the bush, finds he has more reasons than he imagined to carry on.

2 Comments»

  halberts2014 wrote @

Oh Birdie, I actually do know exactly how you feel. My Granddad was the same. We reminded him of all he had to live for, his new great-grandson (Liam) and us and my Mum.
It’s hard for them, being together so long, now they feel totally alone no matter how many other family members are around.
I hope he does find another reason to move on, to go forward. He mustn’t give up. Dawny would want him to stay with you as long as possible.
Love and hugs

  nyamazela wrote @

Dearest Birdie, this is so hard. You and your family and your Dad will be in my prayers. The bush is a therapeutic place so I pray it will at least restore his soul and give him peace. Lots of love to your all. MWAH!


Leave a Reply

