Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Days

…good, bad, long… And nights that seem even longer.

It’s been tough, those dawning realisations that I will never chat to her again, never stroke her soft cheek, never hold that frail body in a love again. I remain ever grateful for the moments I did have – for that moment when I climbed into her hospital bed and rubbed her sore back, for holding her icy cold hand until I could warm it up again, for being able to tell her I loved her and that everything would be ok, for having her for the extra years we were never sure we would have.

I sit here with tears welling up, and I can just hear her saying, ‘No, come on my girly, stop crying, it’s better now, all better.’ Today doesn’t feel much better.

Oh, mom…

2 Comments»

  halberts2014 wrote @

Oh Birdie, you are allowed to cry. Even years from now, the pain will be there and you can cry then too. Yes, think of the good times but you are allowed to think of the bad too.
I still miss my Nan so much and she’ll be gone 5 years in March.
I can offer you just virtual hugs and thoughts (( ))

  Surita Botha wrote @

Ohhh Birdie. I can’t even begin to understand and I don’t even want to imagine that.. My mom is my absolute rock at the moment.


Leave a Reply

