Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Dust

…settles.

I am still very raw, and find myself overwhelmed by emotion often. I know these moments will pass, and I will get stronger; for now I am not fighting them. My brothers have all returned to their respective homes, and my Dad and I are now watching the dust settle around us, the motes are still shiny in the sunbeams, catching and dancing on their way down…

I am very concerned about my father – his memory is not great and he seems frozen; unable to process what has happened. I am trying my best to guide him through all the processes, but I don’t know what to do either. I am relying on friends and favours to get us through all this administration, which really is almost enough to destroy your ideas of grief.

Oh, Mom…

2 Comments»

  halberts2014 wrote @

Ag man, it really is tough. All you can do is be there for your Dad. My Granddad was lost without my Nan and as much as we were there for him he pretty much gave up.
Hugs Birdie, it does get better but you don’t have to forget. I still cry

  catjuggles wrote @

I am so sorry for your huge loss – and yes, tying up things is excruciating. You dad may just be in shock? Best of luck with taking care of him


Leave a Reply

