Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Fly, be free

At 02h00 my mom threw off the shackles of this earthly body that had failed her, and now she flies, she is free. I am overwhelmed with grief, but so glad to have had her for as long as I did. My beautiful blue eyed little mom. 

I have been grieving for a long time. The last 10 years were borrowed time for her, and graciously received. 10 years ago she had heart surgery that we were not sure she would survive, but she did, and filled those years up. She saw me get married and my Thandi girl arrive. There were many difficult days, when pain and broken hips got in the way; but there were so many  good days too – sitting at my kitchen counter, helping me ice Thandi’s birthday cakes, guiding me through the process; holding my hand through those first 6 months of Thandi’s life, looking for advice for me on breastfeeding and why babies cry. Ah my Mom. Who am I going to be able to chat to over the phone, endlessly, to Dad’s horror? Who will help me this year with that cake? Who will I share that mother-daughter-granddaughter bond with? 

Thank you for being My Mom. I know you were proud of all of 3 of us, the boys and I; I only hope that I continue to make you proud and that I can be a mom just like you. Enjoy that glorious reunion amongst the angels. 

I love you. May flights of angels sing you to your rest. See you in my dreams, just past the Southern Cross, somewhere along Orion’s Belt. 

6 Comments»

  halberts2014 wrote @

Oh I am so sorry Birdie. Mum is free, flying over you. Sounds like she was a really great Mum

  halfadozendiary wrote @

So sorry to hear of your mothers passing. You are in our thoughts and prayers. Love the Thompson’s.

  charlie wrote @

Goodbye Dawn , rest well . I’m going to Miss you . I promise to look after your daughter and grand daughter like you would want me to .
Hamba Gahle Mama

  TAFKAD wrote @

Ah babe. So sad for your loss. Big love and big sadness.

  Alexandra wrote @

Thinking of you. Sending love and hugs.

  staciet wrote @

I am so, so sorry for the loss of your beautiful mom. Much love to you.


Leave a Reply

