Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Windy

…so when is summer ever going to arrive in the parts – it’s been so miserable? We’ve had a ton of rain – which I love and our land desperately needs, but its also been cold and extremely windy; and if there’s one thing that makes me grumpy, it is days and days of incessant wind. (4 days and counting…)

Yesterday I went for a run, my first since the Dryland, and it was good. I felt pretty good, except for my toenail, which I could feel wiggling, despite a dressing and 2 pairs of socks – euw! While we were running the wind starting picking up, we ran across the beach, and you know when the dry sand dances across the wet sand, stinging you legs and occasionally your eyes too – well, that was yesterday. After the run it was time to head back to the beach a little later for Thandi’s Nipette’s session, and by then it was just plain horrible – the wind, the sand, and the mood of many of the kids. After an hour I was entirely windswept, and had had enough!

So I retreated home, got warm and clean and unwindswept.

Phew.

3 Comments»

  halberts2014 wrote @

Ewww indeed on the toe nail. Mine is sommer tingling now
We tried to go to the beach yesterday but with the huge moon on the way the waves were way to high, right up to the parking lot and the sea looked very cross indeed. Not swimming weather, even for a kid

  nyamazela wrote @

I agree with you. Wind should only ever blow at night when I’m safely tucked into bed. Wind, like sweet popcorn, it against my religion!

  charliesbird wrote @

hehe!That sweet popcorn thing – decided to buy Tinks a ‘healthy snack’while we were at Disneyland Paris, chose the popcorn, to be devastated when it was sweet, even she pulled up her nose at the flipping expensive on the rand popcorn!


Leave a Reply

