Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

barely breathing

…so this honestly has been one of the toughest experiences of my career; and while the intense workload is now slightly eased, because my associate is now home again, I am going to take a significant amount of time to recover, I suspect. I developed a cold 2 weeks ago, which has unfolded into a delightful dose of Bronchitis, and I am feeling very washed out from it. so despite an ok weekend on call and a day off yesterday, I am still feeling very fragile.

My day off yesterday was quite special, in that it was just some me time! I came into work, sorted out a few things, then headed off to the gym, to attempt a run. I was feeling slightly nervous to hit the road, because I kept wondering if I coughed up a lung on the side of the road, would anyone stop to pick up the pieces? SO I decided to just do an easy run on the treadmill, which I managed – yay! It was a slow 45 min run, interspersed with lunges and squats and afterwards some stretches. I didn’t cough up much of my lungs, so all was good. Then it was home for a few chores – I am jamming and preserving up a storm for Thandi’s school games day (our class is doing the home industry table) and I made some wine jelly and onion marmalade. Then I had booked a luxurious afternoon at one of the local lodge’s spas – a lunch with a glass of divine wine, followed by a massage and a facial – I melted my way home after that, and things felt ok with the world…

IMG_5648

Then I headed home after a quick finance meeting at the practice to a lovely date night with my husband. Shame, poor Charlie has definitely felt a little neglected through the last few weeks, work really has pushed everything and everyone to the wayside. It was so nice to just giggle and smile at each other over a delicious glass of wine. I do love my patient husband!

Like I said, yesterday did me a lot of good, but I know that I am going to take a long time to fully recover… Tenacious perseverance and endurance are called for.

4 Comments»

  catjuggles wrote @

The day off sounds just what you deserve. I do hope you recover soon

  the aunty formerly known as donzil wrote @

nice day, may it be a regular feature on your calendar 🙂

  runnermum wrote @

Goodness – I can understand why you are so tired. Wish I could help.
Hugs

  MamaCat wrote @

Sorry to hear it has been so bad. Those spa afternoons look like they can help?


Leave a Reply

