Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Failing

..at this life thing. I’m feeling atrocious, my voice is going (thanks bloody lurgies), I haven’t had a full night’s sleep in a very long time now, and I am at the end of my tether. 10 nights done, 4 to go.

The worst part of this kind of work stress, is that it makes me feel as though I am failing at everything else. It feels like the house is spiralling out of control, I don’t know what food there is for my family, I keep stocking up on junk to try to make up for things. I haven’t run in a week; and I haven’t been able to spend time with my friends who have come down to this neck of the woods on holiday. I’m not sure my child recognises me anymore. Fuck it, it’s crap. And while I know this time will pass, I’m not sure anyone realises the impact this has on my body, brain and my people. It’s huge. So while I will have this coming weekend off, it’s going to take me months to recover, which I don’t have because well, this is it…

All I really want to do is disappear.

2 Comments»

  drhf wrote @

I understand completely. Just don;t have the solutions. Trying to find them myself.

  halberts2014 wrote @

Yep, I hear you. It’s just another thing we have to push through.


Leave a Reply

