Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Sleep glorious sleep!

…Well this was my weekend of sleep. Friday night we went to a wine auction and dinner, and after imbibing possibly a bit too much wine, it might be alleged, maybe, I woke in the early hours of Saturday morning, feeling horrible! And with a pounding head (and heart – I get such palpitations if I drink too much wine), and a queasy tummy, I nursed myself all day, mostly in bed. And how indulgent is that? The last time I remember doing that was the day I had my amnio almost 6 years ago! Crikey! But I think my body needed it. I am still at breaking point, but somehow my body just needed it, and I read and slept, and dozed and slept some more. By about 3 in the afternoon I felt a lot more human – thankfully – because we had Thandi’s first music concert. The 3 littlies did some percussion work, some actions to a song and then showed us what they were learning on the piano. I was fairly amazed. The other children all did a great job too – it was all very sweet!

Sunday we bid farewell to the Germans for the foreseeable future. They are having some visa issues, and now have to apply for their extension in their country of origin, despite working in SA, attending school in SA – Thanks bloody HomeAffairs/Foreign Relations. They are hoping to be home in 6-8 weeks, but who knows, who bloody knows? For me I was quite subdued – knowing that next year we will be bidding farewell, as they travel onto their next work contract, and I’m not quite sure what I will do without my buddy. So this is our trial run – Skype, FaceTime and what’s app are all set up and functioning. I will say Thank God for the inter webs, and how much smaller they have made the world.

I leave you with some pictures of my beautiful beautiful city…

IMG_1832 IMG_1834 IMG_1844 IMG_1850 IMG_1852

7 Comments»

  halberts2014 wrote @

How on earth do you get to stay in bed with a kid? Please do tell 🙂
Looks chilly, great pics of Thandi

  charliesbird wrote @

She had Dance rehearsals, played with our neighbours, and I have an AMAZING husbuddy.

  halberts2014 wrote @

Yeah, sure, my hubby is hands on too, but I can’t imagine being “allowed” to stay in bed, LOL.
Blegh, wine hangover is the worst hey

  runnermum wrote @

Urrghh I hate that feeling of almost passing out from wine and then waking up in the middle of the night – wide awake with a racing heart.

Good on you for taking a day out of things.

  MamaCat wrote @

I live for those weekends I can lie in bed with my books. I think we appreciate them because they are so rare. I still ask for a day with my books every birthday.
I hope you are feeling better after the weekend, though perhaps it was not long enough.

  nyamazela wrote @

Lovely pics Birdie – can’t wait to see you in a couple of weeks time.

  Tanja wrote @

Ahhhh my beautiful friend…let’s just hope we’ll be together veeery soon again! And a new country means a new holiday destination and new adventures together!


Leave a Reply

