Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

as always

…life seems to balance itself out. After teetering on the edge of an abyss last week, this week, although, not far from that edge, I am no longer teetering. A few good endorphin producing runs, some good creativity, and some sleep (and wine) and I am feeling a bit better.

The creativity has all been related to Tink’s birthday party planning. Our theme this year is Little Miss Sunshine (of the Mr Men and Little Miss series); and it has been so much fun to play with ideas. I’ve done 99% of all my painting work – having worked on a photo booth, a feed Little Miss Greedy station (and made 1 of the 3 felt donuts they will try to throw through her mouth), a pin the crown on Little Miss Princess station. The only thing to finish is the Little Miss Whoops piñata, which just needs filling and sealing. I’m putting bouncy balls into it, instead of sweets, looking forward to the chaos when they all go bouncing across the garden! Then over the weekend I worked on the fondant figurines for the cake. I know I could outsource all of these sort of things, but they’re actually super fun to do! For the first time I worked with Rice Krispie treats to make the main figurine – and that was pretty cool, especially since even TAFKAD, my baking guru and go to lady hadn’t done it before, so there was lots of pouring over tutorials on line to get the best ideas. It seems to have worked well, fingers crossed it’ll keep until next weekend! The rest of this week will be filled with sewing, (table clothes and bunting) so that this weekend can be dedicated to baking – biscuits, fudge, rice crispy treats (yes more!), smudge, so that next week my work load is reduced to just the cake! Phew! Actually it’s not sounding too onerous. Let’s just hope the weekend on call is reasonable and I get my baking done!

(I even roped Charlie in – he’s made a lemonade stand and a sign – welcoming everyone to Laughterland!)

In my next life I think I want to be a party planner!

 

10 Comments»

  halberts2014 wrote @

Sounds fun, can’t wait for the pics. You make me feel lazy because I’m planning for July and I seem to be outsourcing everything. When do you get time to do all these things? I’m in bed by 8.30pm each evening

  charliesbird wrote @

I always look for more time in my day!!! Invariably I end up working on things late into the night. Last night I finished up at about 10:30/11pm, which was quite early for me when I am on a mission like this!

  halberts2014 wrote @

I love my sleep to much. I’m so shattered in the evenings, I can’t imagine having to paint things. I think perhaps also because I consider myself not to be so arty so just leave things to the professionals 😉

  runnermum wrote @

I also love the planning and execution of a party. Big problem is that I’m so hypercritical of myself and therefore I’m never satisfied with my attempts.

  charliesbird wrote @

I hear you, but this time I am super chuffed, wait for the piccies!

  MamaCat wrote @

I must say it works for me….doing something creative always gets me a good mood. I love the making, baking creating thing.
It is good to hear that you are feeling better again. The party planning sounds like such fun.

  nyamazela wrote @

Birdie is back in the zone!

  charliesbird wrote @

Let’s hope so!

  catjuggles wrote @

Sounds like a fantastic party in the making. I used to love to plan the parties but sadly I think we are over the usual party age thing. Maybe tweenagers will bring new creative challenges

  the aunty formerly known as donzil wrote @

be a party planner in this lifetime! you do it so well 🙂


Leave a Reply

