Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

A good weekend

…was had here in Birdie’s world. After Friday that is.

While my day started well on Friday, I developed a somewhat debilitating migraine in the afternoon – throwing up between patients, developing severe photophobia, and I have no memory of my drive home from work… Anyway, eventually the drugs kicked in, and I felt slightly more human, Saturday I still had a dull ache in my head – one of those where if you shake your head or move too quickly it feels like it may come back… Anyway, that meant I made sure I had a quiet day, and chilled until the evening, when we had our Wilde Women handover of all the funds we raised. What a great event it was – hosted by a microbrewery in the coastal area, we had a good meal and a joyous handover – each charity spoke, one even had a song for us, sang as only the locals can sing a spiritual, with great tone, pitch and almost tear provoking beauty. Then for the big news of the night, we raised an impressive R123 250 which is equally divided between the 2 groups. Absolutely incredible!

(thandipants had an awesome time with her 2 buddies in the bunny cage, poor bunnies, I think they were eventually so exhausted, they finally conceded defat and were caught by the young terrorists ladies – so sweet!IMG_4588 )

Then Sunday came round – a relaxed and laid back day, but a day when a major milestone was achieved – someone has finally learnt to ride without her fairy wheels!!! I am so proud of my little lady – she was tired, so there were plenty of tantrums and frustrated tears, but by jove, she got it! IMG_4591 (somehow the site won’t allow me to upload a little video, but anyway – she’s up and pedalling!)

4 Comments»

  runnermum wrote @

Well done Thandi and Birdie! What an amazing amount of money that you raised.

  catjuggles wrote @

Ah – well done on the fund raising. I have no idea how you managed to work through a migraine – you are a stronger woman than I am.

  MamaCat wrote @

Well done on the fairy wheels. This mama is not brave enough to take them off.

  nyamazela wrote @

Yay for bunnies and bikes… and hopefully a bit of water soon – eek!


Leave a Reply

