Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Weeping

…for what my country used to be; weeping for the dreams of so many South Africans, dashed against the ego of our arrogant president; weeping for the brilliant optimism of my fellow South Africans, melting away, as Nero fiddles…

The farce of Friday night has sat so uncomfortably with me this weekend. And I have spent so much time thinking about it. I am not about to up and leave my home – in fact I am no longer able to practice anywhere else in the world – so I really don’t want to open this can of worms up ion my blog. I really wonder how do we, average South Africans, who are here for the long haul, make a difference? I know that in my little impoverished province I am ‘sheltered’ from a lot of things that go on in bigger centres. I also know that I am living in a far more ‘realistic’ version of the South African dream, with a far more integrated city. And life is good, actually. Really and truly, I am not sure I would be able to reproduce my quality of life anywhere else. But the insults that this man I am forced to call President continues to throw at me, at my education, at my future leave me in despair.

We need a saviour more than ever, and I don’t see a Mr Mandela standing in the wings this time…

7 Comments»

  runnermum wrote @

Greed… When is enough enough? In the end it is all about money.. .
I’m also crying in my tea, how can everybody just keep on protecting him?

  halberts2014 wrote @

I no longer had the patience to listen to anything he says. Everytime I hear him talk I hear the words but they just don’t mean anything. Blah, blah, blah, same old same old.
We do need a saviour.

  halberts2014 wrote @

They purposely lower our education standards to produce an illerate following who simply do not know any better

  catjuggles wrote @

I shudder that people do not see that to get rid of him you have to get rid of the party as they do not have the guts to stand up. And there I thought you live in a big city…

  catjuggles wrote @

Well I mean – I had a specific one in my mind – but not in the kind of province you describe

  charliesbird wrote @

I live in one of those coastal cities in the Eastern Cape – I rate it as one of our country’s best kept secrets!

  catjuggles wrote @

My hubby grew up in PE – very fond of the EC


Leave a Reply

