Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

The Wild Ngunis

…one of, for me, the pleasures of being in the Transkei is getting to see the local mooches who come down to the beach to escape the ticks and the heat in the farmlands, and doubles as a bit of a salt lick for them. I love seeing them, admiring their beautiful coats and seeing their interactions in their herds. IMG_3492 IMG_3495 IMG_3523 IMG_3527 IMG_3532 IMG_3534 IMG_3535 IMG_3760 IMG_3873

6 Comments»

  halberts2014 wrote @

Ag man, aren’t they too beautiful. Big brown eyes and huge noses.
Pretty brave of someone to stand in front of them with those horns. I have a healthy respect for something bigger than me.

  runnermum wrote @

I love those sunbathing cows.

  Matthew Savides wrote @

Transkei is my favourite place in the world. Port St Johns especially.

  charliesbird wrote @

PSJ is incredible, although my absolute best is Ntlonyana, near The Haven – love, love, love!

  catjuggles wrote @

I really want to see this too

  nyamazela wrote @

I LOVE cow beach, as the locals call it. Ngunis are my father’s favourite cows. By the way, so impressed with you and your ladies – legends, all of you!


Leave a Reply

