Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Remembering

…what really counts. Two things have happened in the last 24 hours that have made me just stop and think.

Last night my brother called me, and we had a heart-to-heart chat. Now bear in mind, my brother is 13 years older than me, and we are not tight, like I see some of my friends are with their family. It was such a nice chat. He’s a super experienced runner – 14 2Oceans, a Comrades, numerous marathons and an impressive record of bp’s (34 minutes on a 10km!). And he was genuinely worried about how I was doing, how I was feeling, trying to help me figure out where things went pear shaped. I really got the warm fuzzies after that chat, and rang off feeling the love.

This morning I heard the news that my last remaining maternal aunt had passed away – my mom’s sister-in-law, and I was able to ring my cousin, shed a tear with her, and offer her some support and love. And yes, we may not ever see enough of our family, and I am really the baby cousin – my mom was the youngest in her family, as am I, both by a long way, so mostly, my cousins children are my age, so I may not have a lot in common, but we are bound by those family ties, and I am so grateful for them.

So today I am grateful for a body that gets out of bed, and does (occasionally) run; my telephone (although I hate the device) that keeps me in touch with family and those strands of DNA which bind me to my family.

1 Comment»

  catjuggles wrote @

Oh the ties that bind are just magical. Totally love this post.


Leave a Reply

