Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Back in town

…after a brief few HECTIC days in Cape Town, I am back home. Home to less traffic, easier roads, and my beautiful family. Aaah…

Anyway, the time away was good. I enjoyed the conference, that which I did attend. There were some very esoteric talks for an OBGYN conference, but I found it all interesting nonetheless. Not sure I am changing my practice on any points, which I guess is a good thing, it means I am still up to date, despite being removed from an academic medical centre.

The deli shopping and sourcing of ingredients was good too! I made some good connections and found some great new products. I even came home with a home beer brewing kit, so we will give it a go, and if we get it right, hopefully get some kits on the shelf! Fun stuff!

IMG_2426(Some of my testy new treats)

And then there was all the time with my friends and chommies! These girls form part of my inner circle, some of us have been friends since we were 5, so 35 years of friendship stands the test of time! It was so lekka! And we ate at such cool places! Tapas at Bistro 1682, with accompanying bubbly; sundowner sushi at Beau Constantia; Ice cream at The Creamery (and yes, it was just ice cream, but it gets both a capital letter and it’s own entry on the list – good god, it was incredible!); Fine dining at Open Door; and other small treats along the way! So much fun, so much wine and so many memories made.

IMG_2485 IMG_2477 IMG_2434 IMG_2433 IMG_2441IMG_2461(salted caramel and barley malt ice cream with a toasted marshmallow topping!) IMG_2460 (the view from Beau Constantia) IMG_2437(Full moon on the way home from Bistro 1682)

And then I had to get a stomp on the mountain in. When I lived in CT, I used to walk most Sundays on that mountain, so although I couldn’t slot in with my regular old walking friends, TAFKAD and I had a tramp around new lands forest, which was just lovely! IMG_2470 IMG_2471

 

 

 

2 Comments»

  the aunty formerly known as donzil wrote @

I must say, it took a few days for my liver and constitution to recover from all the deliciousness! I only searched out the left over ice cream last night, couldn’t face it until now…. 😉

  charliesbird wrote @

hehe! I’ve been dreaming about that flipping ice cream!


Leave a Reply

