Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Respite

…yesterday started very very early for me… I woke up around 11/12pm on Tuesday night with one of the worst migraines I’ve eve had. I could not keep any pain meds down, I was throwing up, and felt horrendous! Knowing I had a full day of work ahead of me didn’t help; but luckily, I know a few doctors, who successfully doctored me, with a cocktail of IV meds which settled my nausea and eased my headache. Today I still feel a little tender, but I survived that. Yowzer! And I had so much news to share!

Tuesday evening was Thandi’s orientation at her new school for Grade 00. Did we have a vibrating with excitement child on our hands? She was so so thrilled by what was coming her way. And she got to meet her teacher, Mrs Williams, and saw her classroom, and got to check out the playground. We are equally as thrilled with the choices we have made for her. For me, it was really full circle, you see, this is my old school. I started in then Sub A, and finished in Matric at this very school. I am so incredible chuffed that she will learn all the old traditions I experienced, and we will share a bit of a common bond. Even if it is just the smell of the passages, and the feel of the passages on your shoes. The teachers might have changed, the uniforms have had a tweak, and technology has arrived, but it still has the same feel it had all those years ago.

IMG_2319

And whilst I was thrilled to see my girl so very happy and pleased for herself, my own heart broke a little. She’s growing up, I only have 14 more years (more (if I am lucky) or less) with this beautiful person before I release her into the wild, and that really doesn’t feel like enough time. How do we slow this damn clock down?

(Tomorrow I will share the ‘dancing concert’s got to watch yesterday)

3 Comments»

  MamaCat wrote @

My littlee is also starting Grade 00 next year. Parents Day is on Saturday. I feel such anxiety everytime I think about him and the new school. I am very sure we made the right decision, but my sensitive baby is going to take a while to get used to it all.

  charliesbird wrote @

We really have to be so brave in the face of their vulnerability…

  Alexandra wrote @

That migraine sound horrendous – glad you know people who can help.


Leave a Reply

