Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

So here goes

….drum roll please…ta da!

Meet Salut!

11935114_1477767702523867_2730217773915752461_o

We, Charlie and I, are opening a small dry stores deli in our home town. For a long time I have had a dream (cue a Martin Luther King moment, nah, screw that I could never change the world quite like him) of a store where I could find the missing link ingredient in the recipe. You know what I mean, you’re cooking along and all of a sudden they want chipotle chillis and heaven help you, but it’s not something you have in your pantry, in fact you search the town and can’t find it, dammit, so the recipe goes unmade and your tastebuds are sad. I am going to make your tastebuds so happy, your hips might just hate me!

Stocking a variety of dry stores – good olive oil, vinegars, spices, sauces, confectionary, tea, coffee; and a few other kitchenesque essentials – beautiful tea towels, serviettes and table runners, chopping boards, recipe books; we will, I believe, fill a gap in our local market. I have deliberately tried to only stock things I have never seen in our neck of the woods, I believe the foodie businesses all have to complement each other to grow to greater heights.

I am excited, terrified and so damn busy, I can hardly speak! Between stocking the shelves, getting the shelves made (Thanks Charlie), hiring staff, getting a till and a bank account and… and… and…. But it’s an awesome journey, a great opportunity and it’s going to be incredible!

Check us out on facebook as Salut, or here on WordPress, http://www.salutdeli.wordpress.com.

See you soon, in a garden near you!

3 Comments»

  waitingbetweenthelines wrote @

Congratulations! Great concept. I recently couldn’t find rose water or kaffir lime leaves… If you were in jhb I would have definitely popped in!

  Alexandra wrote @

So exciting. Congratulations and good luck!

  nyamazela wrote @

Salut! Bon chance mon ami! Big dreams maketh the birdie!


Leave a Reply

