Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

highs and

…lows. The theme of my weekend.

  1. Confirmation that you are now menopausal (fuck you hormones!) and require HT, while still getting a regular cycle. (thank you bastard universe for that treasure)
  2. Coming in as the second lady home in a trail run on Friday night (must have been a slow run!) IMG_1421
  3. Having a migraine of note on Sunday, which had me throwing up, while trying to get my daughter dressed, which meant I couldn’t take part in my scheduled trail run, damnit!
  4. Getting a great tutorial on making and the eating käsespätzle with our friends. Yum!IMG_1457
  5. Spending a glorious hour on the beach, with Thandi, while Ntombi tried to make an escape for it! Cheeky girl! IMG_1440
  6. A run in my new running shoes, which were delivered the day after I ordered them, well done Sportsman’s Warehouse!
  7. A birthday Party with our cousins for Thandi IMG_1430 (Jake and the Neverland pirate party, T was Izzy!)
  8. A trip to the local festival this weekend, despite some atrocious windy weather.IMG_1463
4 Comments»

  runnermum wrote @

That is really a weekend of highs and lows.

I’m starting to think that I’m menopausal as well but to be quite frank – I’m taking the ostrich approach. Period was missing for 10 weeks and then appeared for only 2 days!

Well done on your placing in the race – don’t put yourself down – you were second – full stop.

  nyamazela wrote @

Okay, so how do you pronounce käsespätzle? Sounds like you’ve had a busy time, Birdie. Yay for the highs and pants to the lows (my hubby says ‘pants’ is a rude word, but I like it!)

  charliesbird wrote @

I also like pants! Hehe! We’ll be rude together! kerse-spatzlee, kinda? Like german mac cheese, kinda. looked through my book, and everyone voted for your recipe next! Watch this space next weekend!

  nyamazela wrote @

Yay! Super excited! I made it last weekend and varied it slightly by topping it with yoghurt instead of crème fraise and chopped dill instead of coriander … It was good. I also put in extra chorizo 🙂


Leave a Reply

