Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Friday feelnogoods

…gosh, I don’t know if its the cold or just that time of the year, but I am feeling so sad and disheartened at the moment. Charlie and I escaped a load shed house last night, leaving Thandi with her Noxy, and grabbed a bite to eat. It was a good time to have a chat and reconnect, and it was clear that we are both feeling a little frustrated and sad with where we find ourselves.  For almost a year now we have been compromising, putting a brave face on and making jokes about load shedding, and now it is the middle of winter, we are going through some really bad weather, with lots of snow on the mountains, and goddammit, it’s cold, and merrily, merrily, with their bonus in their back pocket, they are shedding us. How dare they! It’s been a year in which we have seen almost no remedial action instituted regarding our power situation, aside from a worthless, pocket lining (for a select few) nuclear power proposal.

And I am the first to point out that my whinge comes from a well constructed house with all the mod cons I can afford, and with a generator, which we would use if we were to be shed for more than 2 hours. How does the mom in the squatter camp cope with her child who is sick, needing to fed, and all the while being rained upon via her poorly constructed shack roof or, heaven forbid, her crumbling RDP house.

No-one seems to care. No-one seems to have a plan to ‘help’ us. Our quality of life is no longer what it was 2, even 5 years ago. And all the while our president laughs while Rome burns in the distance. And his mafiosa-like gang protect him at all the cost of their integrity, and our land.

5 Comments»

  runnermum wrote @

I’m so glad that I’m not the only one that is frustrated and angry and despondent and scared and and and. Where will it end – shouldn’t we just accept that Rome is burning and try to run?

  charliesbird wrote @

I am so invested here, I don’t want to be anywhere else. I love it here, just hate what is happening.

  Alexandra wrote @

Are we hanging in there, supporting our nation in crisis, in the hope of better days?

Or are we foolishly sticking our heads in the sand when we should be cutting our losses and running?

I regularly ask myself these questions but as yet have not reached a conclusive answer.

And on a happier (?) note, tomorrow morning I am hosting a 6 year old birthday party, in my garden, in this weather!

  charliesbird wrote @

It such a tough one. But I am such an African, here I will stay.
Enjoy the party, I’m sure it will be magnificent!

  Robyn wrote @

Well said. You sum up exactly what many South Africans are currently feeling


Leave a Reply

