Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Revisiting old feelings

…so last year when we decided to put a hold on trying for a second babe and focus on the running, the plan always was to review where we found ourselves after the marathon.

And I’m here now, and I’m not quite sure where I stand. Realistically I know it’s over, but the heart doesn’t always listen to logic…

Watching Thandi on holiday, so desperate for the French kids to notice her and play with her. Seeing her follow other children around in Disneyland, copying them, hoping they would just interact, my heart crumbled a little more. Do I owe her one more shot? Can I do it? Do I have it in me? I think I know the answer…

The longing will never go away, I suspect.

2 Comments»

  runnermum wrote @

Ohh Birdie – that is so heart breaking – Zoe is an only child and I really can’t say that it influences her negatively. However we do make a very concerted effort to go away for weekends with people with kids and she must participate in team sports at school.

However – I also have this nagging little voice – saying the whole time – your time to have a child is running out. Even though I’m quite comfortable with our choice to have only one child.

I can’t give any feedback on the fertility treatments – I’m one of those very annoying people that had to try only ONCE to fall pregnant.

  Charlie wrote @

*lump* swallow


Leave a Reply

