Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Butterflies

…are partying up a storm in my insides! In the last half an hour, the nerves have struck and I have a huge lump in my throat, I feel like my heart might beat out of my chest. Gah! We are 95% packed. I have 1 load of washing still drying, toiletries need to be packed, boarding passes are printed. I guess we are as ready as we will ever be.

The marathon is also looming large. I can’t quite believe in 6 sleeps time I will be lining up at the start. My training is done, I have done the best I could, given my lifestyle. One more early run tomorrow morning, and we are done. Tears smart at the corner of my eyes when I think how far I have come, and how this crazy lark I signed up for has motivated me, driven me, and got me here. To a new me, a person who despite not really believing she can, is going to. Thank you everyone who has cheered me along and listened to me go on and on (and on) about running, MJ² and RT who ran with me when I was painful and pathetic; Coach Mo who has never really doubted me; my nurse Bridgy who has been my masseuse par excellence, T&M who have run with me with imaginary spatulas, Thandi who always believes I have won and Charlie, who has seen me at my best, and my worst; who has been the best supporter and second I could ever have hoped for. This really has been a team effort!

 

3 Comments»

  MamaCat wrote @

Good luck with it all. Have some fun too.

  Writingofpassage wrote @

Best of luck!!

  runnermum wrote @

Enjoy it! So jealous!


Leave a Reply

