Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Argh

…but yay.

Argh for an injury that I have developed. I am gutted! I ran on Wednesday morning, had a good, fairly easy run, enjoyed it, and after my shower when I tried to walk downstairs, I felt a nasty twinge in my Achilles area. I thought maybe I’d bruised it when I took off my compression sock, but it progressed as the morning went on. I managed to sneak into my physio, and she assessed it as a solues/gastrocnemius strain (calf/Achilles) and treated it. I rested yesterday, felt a bit twinge, and it seemed much better this morning at 04h30, when I got up to run. First km was perfect, no pain, good pace, coping and enjoying, until we hit a big hill…. After 3km I called it, and limped back to the car, (for a grand total of 5km) with my heart in my boots and tears threatening. Another session with the physio, which certainly wasn’t as bad as the first. Some good drugs, and I am fairly comfortable now; but have been warned not to run this weekend. And this weekend was supposed to be the big one; the long run to prove to myself that I will survive in Paris. Oh, I am seriously bleak/scared and stressed!

But yay, it’s Friday!

4 Comments»

  runnermum wrote @

Bruce Fordyce say – rather undertrained than overtrained. So rest, rest and rest. You are fit and strong – don’t stress.

  charliesbird wrote @

Thanks RM, but I am so damn nervous! If I could just do this damn run this weekend, I think I would put lots of nerves to bed…

  the aunty formerly known as donzil wrote @

ja babe, runnermum has it, don’t run on an injury or it’ll get worse. you’ve put in the k’s, maybe time for some rest. strength. I know this stuff is super frustrating xo

  MamaCat wrote @

It is so defeating to have an injury now. You are a strong woman, and you will love Paris and do great.


Leave a Reply

