Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

A voyeur’s evening

…I’ve got lots to tell you all about this weekend, my mom’s birthday, another half marathon, a lovely time with Thandigirl, but what I really want to share with you is the experience we had on Saturday evening.

Unexpectedly TAFKAD was in town, and Charlie booked tickets to a Guy Buttery concert. He is a guitarist, doing all sorts of various styles – even using a saw (yes, a saw) and a sitar. Anyway, the evening started with cocktails at one of the local spots, before we headed to the theatre. It’s a quirky little spot, and one takes a picnic along, and then is seated at round tables, to eat and feast before the show begins. We settled down, opened our wine, and so he began playing.

Oh my goodness… He is incredible, but it was such an intimate performance, I almost could not watch him. The emotion was raw and his soul was laid bare. I had to look away often, I felt like I was spying on him, in one of his most intense moments. The music stilled my soul, slowed the beat of my heart and I really appreciated that. I’ve been lucky to watch many accomplished guitarists – Tony Cox, Steve Newman – and while this performance might not have been as slick as theirs, his playing was outstanding, I think his talent outstrips theirs, and one day his light will shine brighter. Well done, Mr Buttery, and thank you for allowing this voyeur to watch you.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

