Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Crazy week!

…ahead! It’s going to be busy and brutal! But in a good way I think!

I’m afraid I skipped my morning run this morning, I had had a late night and when the alarm went off at 04h30, I could not do it. My legs are still quite tired from my long runs over the weekend, so I thought I’d give it a go this evening.

So last night the preparation for the weekend’s festivities began in earnest. In case you’ve missed out, I host an annual Valentine’s dinner and it’s game on on Friday evening. I can’t give too much away on the blog, because too many of the guests read this, but its a big thing for me to really spoil my friends. Each year has a theme, and it gets to be quite fun with all the plotting and planning. We’ve had a Fairytale Feast, A Night in Paris, the Feast of Aphrodite, a Mad Hatter’s Tea Party and then the first year was just a dinner. So it’s year 6 now, and it getting tougher to come up with new and executable ideas. Anyway, I think this year will be special, we will just have to see how it all pans out (and please Eskom, no load shedding on Friday night!) Fortunately I got quite a bit of baking done last night, with a bit more to follow today. Then it’s prepping an amuse bouche and the starter; on Thursday I am heading to a chef friend to help me prep my mains (I’d hate to try something and totally screw it up, with no back up plan!) And then on Friday we feast! Yay!

7 Comments»

  runnermum wrote @

The Valentines dinner sounds lovely. Can’t wait to see the photos

  charliesbird wrote @

Yes, there will be lots!

  Charlie wrote @

my stomach is growling romantically …..

  Alexandra wrote @

sounds too divine – wish I was one of your friends.

Instead on Friday evening I will be hosting a mini wine festival for a hundred people for which I have not done enough prep 😮

  Alexandra wrote @

P.S. didn’t know eek was an emoticon 😉

  charliesbird wrote @

Hehe! that’s cute! Good luck, I’m sure it’ll be a great success!

  charliesbird wrote @

One day we will have to have a blogger meet up!


Leave a Reply

