Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

What lies ahead

…this year. Yoh, it’s going to be huge! So January has already had a trip to Cape Town, in 3 weeks I am off to JHB. (visa requirements) Then it’s February and it’s Valentines Day, and time for my annual dinner. Sometime amongst that I’d like to get up to the mountains. Then it’s March and there are a lot of runs I’d like to do. April flies me to Paris and my first marathon. Phew. Then it’s birthday month for Thandi and I – a Sleeping Beauty party for her, please. June brings winter’s cool, and maybe a trip to the game reserves. July and the life I have been so comfortable with changes forever, as a second partner quits doing deliveries, which means that I am on call every second weekend… I’m not sure what that means for me, for my family or my social experiences… It scares me, and worries me. But I am hamstrung. I am the breadwinner, I am left as one of a very few OBGYN’s doing deliveries in this town, and I do feel some kind of loyalty to the town, but I am really concerned… I fear that it will not be sustainable, I fear it’s all going to come crashing down…

1 Comment»

  runnermum wrote @

Ohh Birdie – forewarned is forearmed – or something like that.

Good luck with all the changes – never easy – at least some stuff to look forward to as well.


Leave a Reply

