Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Christmas baking

… is just wonderful! It’s no secret that I love baking. Cooking, in general, but like most little girls I learnt to make biscuits and cakes and sweet treats first, so those delicious bits have a special place in my heart. This year is no exception, I love Christmas baking, however, this year I have been stretched for time, and wish I could have had more time to spend relaxed in the kitchen, not a bit overwrought and tired, because my baking was happening late at night. Anyway, So this year I have made a Christmas fruit cake, a qarkstollen, fudge and gingerbread men so far. There are a few things I’d still like to make, but fear I’m out of time, but I hope to get another batch of fudge done and a batch of choc chip cookies. I also would like to make some Christmas pudding truffles, considering that I don’t have Christmas pud on my menu this year, but it will all depend on time!

I’m a big fan of seasonal eating, so really wouldn’t eat any of these things at other times of the year, a bit like hot cross buns are just for Easter, eating the first on the morning of Good Friday. With the retailers cashing in on our tastes and proclivities, lots of the seasonal food really has lost its charm; hot cross buns becoming spicy buns sans cross for the rest of the year. It’s a bit sad, really.

Saying that, it is almost time for all this feasting and celebrating. The rest of my family are slowly trickling into town. It’s really nice coming together. As always, a few nerves and anxieties exist, but I trust that the spirit of the season will override any of the old issues that always exist within families. It will be good. I promise to relax and enjoy the time, and make it spectacularly special for Thandipants! I will not be a martyr, I will ask for help, and graciously receive it. Let Christmas come!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

