Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Workers be working

…crikey, I had a busy weekend on call! The busiest in months! 4 babies, lots of phone calls and emergency call outs, a gynae operation (seldom happen after hours, but did this time) and interrupted sleep. And throw in Christmas preparation, a wedding anniversary and my nieces’ arrival. Phew! I am shattered!

The week ahead is going to be busy too. There is a lot to do! And I’ll say it again, if only I could have 6 more hours a day!!!! Dessert to make, biscuits to bake, turkey to brine. Phew! Oh well, with 2 teenage nieces, I’ll have some helpers and have some fun and games! I also really need to get some runs in, my brain and butt are suffering for the lack of them.

So Christmas menu wise, I think we are all under control – gazpacho and bruschetta to start, with an antipasti platter, turkey, gammon , roast potatoes and salads for mains, and dessert consisting of pavlova, trifle and strawberry dream (a famous birdie family dessert – like a strawberry ice cream) Yum. I will also have a platter of deliciousness – traditional fruit cake, stollen, mince pies and Christmas pudding chocolates. The children I suspect will pull their noses up at most of that, but us grown ups can indulge. The house smelt all gorgeous and delicious yesterday, while I baked the stollen, all lemony and sweet. Christmas scents!

 

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

