Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Simmering Frog

…you know that cautionary tale of the frog swimming in the cooking pot, unaware that the water is starting to boil and he is being cooked alive? Well today I feel like I am the frog, and I know the water is starting to simmer, but I don’t know how to get out of the pot…

I shouted shrieked at Thandi when the wail began about spilling her juice on her pajamas, that she was about to change out of. I could not get her to just listen to me, and calm down over the fact that she was about to change anyway, so what did it matter, and I lost my cool and yelled. I know I scared her, and the rest of my household, and that isn’t a nice feeling. And I feel so damn foolish that a little lady could get under my skin like that. I really am hopeless at this parenting thing…

 

2 Comments»

  Alexandra wrote @

You are NOT, repeat NOT hopeless at the parenting thing. We all have our moments.

Don’t know how you feel about a link to another’s blog ( I won’t be offended if you remove this) but I definitely think you need to read it:
http://findingjoy.net/the-motherhood-days-we-should-talk-about/

  charliesbird wrote @

Thank you for that, Alexandra. With tears brimming, I am turning off my pc, so I can go home to my Thandipants, so I can just be.


Leave a Reply

