Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Checking in

…after a day or 2 off the radar. My nurse/receptionist needed some time off to travel to a cycling meet, so I got 2 days out of the office. Bliss! I ran, I had permanent make up redone and hairdo. I also had a sick Thandipants, who is still not better, and we went to a wedding/vow renewal! It’s been a busy couple of days.

Thandipants has been a bit off for a while now, coughing and spluttering, and on Friday was really really unhappy. Temperature spiked, she was complaining that she didn’t feel well and that her ear was sore. So doctor mom decided she wasn’t taking any chances, I stopped off at the pharmacy and got her an antibiotic (only the second in her life!) which, if I am honest doesn’t really seem to be making a difference. Oh boy! We have kept her home from school today, she is still not herself and is coughing up lots of gunk. Poor kid. And I really hate seeing her so miserable.

So on Saturday, we headed off to this wedding/vow renewal. JN is a school mom, whose little girl, Gemma is delightful! JN has face some pretty harrowing stuff in the 5 years of her marriage, infertility and a cancer diagnosis. She has been in remission for only 6 months, and they have recently discovered another breast lump, so she faces surgery again… I didn’t initially really get the vow renewal, until I thought a bit more about her situation, and then it became clear. She may never get to share her daughter’s moments, so she is making those moments now. We went with Thandi’s school teacher, old friends of mine, and I started to see a little romance blooming between her eldest son and my princess. After the kids had been playing for a while, Thandi came and whispered in my ear that she thinks she likes Jack, and that Callam (her now ex) could marry Gemma instead (there has been some fighting over who would marry Callam at school!)

035 Mikey, Jack, Gemma in her pretty flowergirl dress and Thandi!

039 Table décor

047 058My beauty!

1 Comment»

  TAFKAD wrote @

Man, aren’t these kids a little young for soap opera love dramas? And these….. Are the days….. Of our lives. Cute pic!!


Leave a Reply

