Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Of families and relationships

It has been a long and heavy week and weekend for me. I am tired, frustrated and feel almost physically assaulted by the week I have had. Hospital visiting hours mean that you never really get anything done. Just as you settle down to a task, you have to head off to the hospital again. And I really am sympathetic to the person lying in hospital, but by the third visit of the day there is no more news to tell, nothing more to say. And you sit in silence, reading news headlines off news24 occasionally. Reciting cricket and rugby scores…

The dynamic of my mother staying with us has been challenging. She is so desperate to ‘not be a burden’, that she makes things even more difficult. She then chirped up with the ridiculous comment of how she hoped my father would see that she needed a car now! This is the lady with bilateral hip replacements, who is deaf, has cataracts and cannot walk without a cane, and has not driven in over 3 years. I really did loose my temper at that point. I also lost my temper when she said she didn’t need any groceries – after a week of not being in her home or having any shopping done. She told me the milk was not sour, the bread was not stale and the fruit and veg were fresh. Hmmm… The real problem is when I talk firmly to her, she then shouts at me, reminding me that she is my mother and I must show her respect! It gets very exhausting to try to deal with it all. I ended up leaving her having a sob in her room, while I did an online order for them (in anticipation of my father’s discharge today), and when she came out and we were able to talk calmly, I made peace and told her I had now ordered the damn groceries and that if there was stuff she didn’t want, she would just have to throw it away. I don’t know if she really realises how busy my work schedule is, and that I will not have time to drop everything to get them bread and milk when they realise they have run out. Or washing powder. Or toilet paper… For at least a month my father will not be able to drive. I am already seriously frustrated.

The rest of the weekend was busy, busy, busy. I’ll share some highlights of Thandi’s concert tomorrow, it was very very cute, but I know realise my daughter is not cut out for a career on the stage. The staff party was good fun, the girls all put a lot of effort into their outfits and hats, the meal was excellent, and the wine flowed freely.

1 Comment»

  runnermum wrote @

Ohh Charlie! Good Luck – never easy when you turn into the primary caregiver for your parents – even if it is for only a short while.


Leave a Reply

