Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

The week

…to come is going to be a crazy one. Tonight my dad will be admitted to hospital for a hip replacement tomorrow morning. This evening, my mom will move in with us for the duration of my dad’s hospital stay. Let the games begin!

My mom and I have a generally very good relationship, but we all know what it is like to have a parent move into your space; the space that you have crafted out for yourself. It’s a little different to the home you grew up in, but similar. Throw into the mix, an aging, hard of hearing, stubborn, frail but kind hearted soul; an overworked, stressed, tired, but desperate to please daughter and you see how it could become a smouldering powder keg, ready to blow. Heaven help Charlie!

I’m naturally worried about my dad, but since I know he is fit and otherwise so healthy, I really don’t anticipate any hiccups with his surgery. I suspect we are going to find that afterwards he kicks himself for not contemplating the surgery sooner! Saying that, it certainly isn’t easy knowing they are heading into surgery.

So, between ongoing work, chronic exhaustion and family responsibilities, I ask myself, where will I find the time to run, which I’m going to desperately need at a time like this?

2 Comments»

  runnermum wrote @

Good luck with the running! Hey and congrats with your PB – that is fantastic. Keep that joy for running going – I wish I can find it again.

  fudgingood wrote @

I hope all goes well with your Dad – please let him know I’m thinking of him. I’m thinking of you and your mom too, fingers crossed everything runs smoothly.


Leave a Reply

