Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Not sweating

…the small stuff. I really am trying not to get worked up about things at the moment. Having been on call for 8 out of the last 10 days, my ‘gees’ is a bit lacking, and (gasps of shock and horror!) I have even asked for some help. Control freak me has relinquished some control… There is a very special celebration happening this weekend for a (infertility) friend’s new baby. Em’s mom is becoming a mom again, and on Saturday we are getting together to celebrate the little life that is going to turn their worlds upside down. I have that horrible arm thing, where my arm just rises without any provocation when people ask for help and ideas and I tend to (somewhat) over commit myself. So in addition to volunteering to make some biscuits, I am making bunting for the shower which Em’s mom will be able to use in the new little guy’s room. I ordered material ages ago, but it took an age to arrive, so last night I hauled it out and started preparing it, but, ran out of some supplies and decided I needed help, so Lotte’s mom is popping over this afternoon and hopefully we will get it all done! Then tonight, after an academic meeting I must complete the icing of the biscuits…

Then the girls are going to a birthday party on Saturday Morning – a mermaid one, for which they must dress up, so look what I made for Thandi and Charlotte – IMG_7275 Cute, hey? I hope my decidedly below par sewing lasts the party – hehe! And I also have a birthday tea to attend at the same time as the mermaid party. Saturday is going to be busy! Throw in a park run and a nephew’s 18th birthday braai on Sunday… Berocca boost anyone?

1 Comment»

  runnermum wrote @

Slow Down! I’m tired just reading this. I’m impressed with your sewing skills.


Leave a Reply

