Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Reporting in for duty!

…it has been an interesting couple of days…

Work was reasonable – thank heavens, I really don’t think I would have coped well with a busy work weekend after the week I had. I finished up later than anticipated on Friday, headed home, and after a quick piece of Banting toast and avo, and a cuppa, I collapsed into a 2 hour dreamless dead to the world nap. I was exhausted, and that nap made the world of a difference. For once it seemed as though the secret cameras hidden in my house – you know, the one’s that alert the patients that I have just fallen asleep so that they can call and wake me up – were turned off. Thank heavens for that.

Socially it was good too – an anniversary dinner for our German friends and a 50th birthday party for a friend. They were both such happy and good evenings!

On the running front, I got one of my speed workouts done on the treadmill on Saturday, and then yesterday I ran an 18km trail run. Phew! I will just say that trail running is a lot tougher than road running. But it was better than some of my previous attempts. So maybe I will survive my run up the mountains in CT in 3 weeks – eek!

In totally other news – Charlie shaved his beard off on Saturday night! It is only the second time I have ever seen him without a beard since I met him 8 years ago. Oh my word, he looks so young! And so naughty! And so like his Dad… I guess with time I might get used to it, but I know he can also grow it back in about 2 weeks!

2 Comments»

  MamaCat wrote @

It is great to hear that you have had a good weekend, and your post sounds so positive.
When Hubby first shaved off his beard, I said to him it was like kissing a stranger.

  runnermum wrote @

Well done on that trail run! Hubby is doing Mount Aux Sources this coming weekend – I’m not brave enough


Leave a Reply

