Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Working weekend

..lies ahead. I can’t say I am looking forward to it, but each weekend worked is a weekend closer to retirement! I’m trying to look on the bright side here;-) hehe! And there are some social events to look forward to – a 40th High Tea tomorrow afternoon, and a braai with mates tomorrow evening. Tonight though, we are running the second race in the night series here. I have a new headlight, so we should be good to go, and see where we are running. After the last one being such fun, I am really looking forward to the event. It was well organised and very social! I’m so proud of my Charlie, he will be out there too, hitting the trail with me. He is sticking to his running, and doing well! (despite moaning and groaning about his knees)

So this morning I tackled another run with the running group. I enjoyed getting out there, there really is something quite magical running so early in the morning (05h00), and it was a challenging run. Sadly though, I lost the group at one intersection, and I wasn’t sure if they had turned or not, so I was left with a decision, in the dark and alone. I chose to get back to my car via the quickest route, which apparently was not the route the rest of the gang was on. Anyway. I lost maybe 100m on the run, if that, and got back to the car minutes before the rest of them made it into the parking lot. I feel a little spare and somewhat sheepish about my next run with them. It’s hard when one doesn’t know the routes, and despite assurances that I wouldn’t be left behind, I was. A single girl, on her own in the dark is not a very good idea these days now, is it?

2 Comments»

  runnermum wrote @

That was just rude to leave you behind. When we run in a group we wait at almost every intersection for everybody to catch up or the strongest runner go back to the last runner and run with them.

Have a good weekend.

  MamaCat wrote @

You are way too busy! I met a gentleman at a work event last night who is married to a doctor. He as only going to see her today for the first time in three days.
Oi, that group running does not sound as safe as it is supposed to be.


Leave a Reply

