Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

The downer

… there was a downer this weekend, that I didn’t share yesterday, and that was this.

So on  Friday afternoon, after a long week at work, I was getting ready to deliver my old car to her new home. She was beautifully clean – washed, vacuumed and I had just filled up, and we were on our way. AS I sat waiting at a red traffic light, it turned green, the cars in front of me started moving, I lifted my foot to begin to accelerate, when all of a sudden a bash from behind surprised me! I had been rear ended! Sadly, he was driving a big hefty bakkie with a winch embedded in his bull bar, which smashed right through my bumper, breaking it. Fortunately, it does not look like there is any structural damage. So poor baby got injured at the 11th hour, and his car does not even have a scratch!

I felt terrible handing over a damaged vehicle! It didn’t seem to phase the new owner much, he is only too excited to be behind the wheel! So early evening Friday was spent at the police station, reporting the accident. Today has been the insurance run around. Next is the repair work, and the excess I will have to pay. All this admin, for a car that is no longer mine, for damage that was not caused by me! Blech.

IMG_7118I know it doesn’t look like much, but its going to cost a fortune, because they will have to replace the entire bumper!

1 Comment»

  MamaCat wrote @

Aw that is not nice at all! I had a bumper basher in July and I am still waiting for the other party to cough up. Today I sent them an email saying whatever, I will just take care of it via my insurance and then they can play with the legal department.


Leave a Reply

