Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Post operative musings

…so my recovery has been fairly smooth. Today I went to gym, managed 20 minutes on the treadmill (was a bit uncomfortable though) and it felt great to get the heart rate up and use the legs. I don’t recall how much info I have given, so here we go, I’ll rehash it all. In 2010 I had a laparoscopy as part of my infertility work up. At the time I was diagnosed with grade 2 endometriosis, involving my uterus and ovaries, bladder, ureter (pipe between kidney and bladder) and my colon, mainly on the right. Obviously after that we went ahead with numerous IVF’s and had a Caesar for Thandi, so lots more interventions; finishing off with that spectacular haemtoma after my last attempted IVF cycle last year. Since then I have struggled with significant pain and things have been definitely ‘not well’ in my pelvis. Eventually the decision was taken (and definitely not lightly) to have another look at things. I managed to convince my doctor to wait until after Knysna, and so last Tuesday, off we went, back to hospital.

So this time last week(+ 1 day) I awoke to the news that there was more endometriosis, involving mainly the left, and sitting in areas which would have made me sore, and that there was a lot of scar tissue, from all the IVF treatments, from the haematoma, from the endometriosis itself… My doctor has now cleaned things up again, so hopefully I improve. But, he has planted a seed… He reckons 1 more cycle, 1 more chance, a teensy bit of hope… And I just don’t know if I can do that to myself again…

3 Comments»

  countesskaz wrote @

def go for for it!!!!!!

  runnermum wrote @

Ohh Birdy I do wish there was an easy answer. I can’t even begin to comprehend how you feel – it took us 1 try – yes really 1 try to fall pregnant.

  MamaCat wrote @

Glad to hear you are feeling better already. Hmmmm…a tough situation about whether you should do it to yourself again.
Listen to your inner voice. It usually tells you what you need to know.


Leave a Reply

