Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Training

This experience of training for the Knysna half marathon has been such an, for want of a better word, educational experience. For one, I never had a clue before about what I was doing, I throw on the tackies, head out without a clue about pace or speed, and when I was tired I’d walk, and then I’d go home. And I had no idea how far I’d run or what time I could predict to finish a prescribed run in.

Now, thanks to my coach and my Garmin I have a clue. I have a far more structured plan, I run at specific paces, for specified times and distances. I rest accordingly and am able to track my performance. Now yesterday I ran my last big run before Knysna (in 2 weeks time) I ran just over 18km in 2 hours on my own. In years gone by, that, as a training run, was unimaginable! It was long, it was without any company except the noisy voices in my brain, but it didn’t feel like 2 hours. I really couldn’t believe it! I can’t honestly say I had a smile on my face at the end, but my brain was singing!

Sitting at the table later eating breakfast, I had to shake my head to bring it home. I’d done it. I can honestly say this is so far, the best preparation I have ever put in for a half, and I’m starting to get a teeny bit excited! I think there will always be a huge amount of anxiety for me, given some previous running disasters, but I might actually run with a wry smile and not the grim gritting of my teeth.

4 Comments»

  runnermum wrote @

Wow – to run 18km’s on your own is amazing. Enjoy Knysna – I’m so jealous – it is most definitely on my bucket list to do.

  charliesbird wrote @

I might have been on my own, but those voices in my head, yoh, they can get bossy and noisy;-)
Knysna is an awesome half (or full, I think?), do it, you’ll love it!

  MamaCat wrote @

Wow, that is an achievement! Congrats to you. I used to love to run because I was alone.

  Cate Pane: The Clear Parent wrote @

I’ve been there! Your experience sounds fantastic. Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

