Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

The tough calls

…of medicine… When you loose a patient; when a patient with a miraculous pregnancy has a dire complication at 24 weeks; when a patient goes into labour very prematurely. And all of these things happened this weekend. I am tired, stressed and drained.

For those of you who know me, you can all vouch that I am a big softy. Part of the very reason I went into OBGYN was that I did not cope well with loosing patients. While OBGYN has its fair share of sad events, by and large, my patients are healthy and happy, and I am privileged to be a part of this exciting time of their lives, and I enjoy that. This weekend challenged me on so many levels. The patient who passed away had an inoperable tumour – probably not in the lady department, but this was where she landed up, and this where she was operated on. When my¬†associate handed her over to me on Friday (she was his patient), I realised we were in for a rough ride; when I saw her on Saturday, I was reassured, but when I saw her on Saturday afternoon, I was concerned and grateful that her family had all flown in to see her, and I was justified in my concern, for a mere 6 hours later she was gone, with nothing I was able to do, but watch things unfold. A very, very difficult situation indeed. And the phone call to the family that evening was just awful… I really don’t cope well…

Anyway, obstetric emergencies kept me busy for the rest of the weekend, more agonizing situations which leave me wanting to run away and bury my head in the sand, much like the toddler who puts their hands over their ears, shouting, when they don’t want to listen to the adults. Some days it is tough being a grown up; this weekend was one of those times, when the weight of responsibility weighed heavily on my shoulders. And continues to…

1 Comment»

  runnermum wrote @

Being a grown up is really so overrated.

Good luck!


Leave a Reply

