Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Mursday

..yes, that’s the Thursday that feels like a Monday. And I suspect is going to be as busy as a Monday too! Ugh.

So yesterday I went and made my mark. It was the strangest election, because, even as I entered the polling booth, I really was not sure who I would vote for. Anyway, my mark was made and lets us see how the chips fall… We were lucky to have virtually no wait. I had been for a run in the morning, and ran past my voting station at about 07h30, and it was so busy. A long queue snaked its way across the parking lot and I reckoned we try later in the day. So after lunch, at about 3 we headed up, and honestly, if it took me 10 minutes, it was a lot. A bit of a shorter wait than I had 20 years ago – 3 hours then.

The other thing I did yesterday was package up Thandi’s baby stuff; a family member with no resources is pregnant and so is our Noxy, both are having girls, so, I guess the time had come. I really was not prepared for quite how heartsore it made me, and I sobbed and sobbed, it felt like such a betrayal to my hopes and dreams… Poor Thandi kept telling me ‘It’ll be alright mommy, it’ll be alright.’ And I wish I felt that way at the moment. My eyes are still all puffy and swollen today. I’ve kept a few special things that I couldn’t give away – little jerseys my mom knitted, the outfit we came home from hospital in, the T-shirt that said ‘I can make you smile’… *sniff. I’ll think of something to do with them to preserve those memories.

Anyway, work awaits me, so I guess I’d better get going. Have good days all!

3 Comments»

  runnermum wrote @

What about a quilt with those special little things.

My heart do go out to you – it is hearbreaking to want something so badly and you just can’t have it. Hugs.

  MamaCat wrote @

That is a sad day….packing the baby things. I still have everything and have not had the heart to give anything away yet. I have no plans for more children, but something in me will not let go yet. I hope you can find your peace and feel better.

  Alexandra wrote @

I found it sad enough packing up baby things even though I have always been adamant I won’t have a third child.


Leave a Reply

