Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Running fail!

…so yesterday I headed off to work, ready for theatre with my gym clothes in my rucksack. Theatre ended and I headed off to change, ready for my run, only to discover I had, in the dark yesterday morning, packed the wrong shorts into my bag. Not to be daunted, I headed off anyway, after assurances from everyone that I looked fine, they were a bit shorter than my usual knee length running pants. Anyway, my run began, I was scheduled to do about a 45 min speed workout yesterday. The first 10 minutes were fine, requiring a few adjustments to said shorts, but after about 15 minutes or so, problems arose, and I started to get uncomfortable between the legs, because you see, the shorts I’d packed in were shorts I last wore about 8 years ago, when I weighed about 8kg less than now. They were very short, and being so aged, had lost a fair amount of elasticity, so there I was running at pace trying to pull the creeping short shorts out of my groin, when the chaff began… Another 10 minutes and I bailed, with my inner thighs on fire! Argh!!! To top it off, I feel like the proverbial fisherman talking about the one that got away – it was going so well! And so today, with longer shorts in the bag (yes, I checked!) I head back to attempt my speed workout again…

2 Comments»

  runnermum wrote @

How do I subscribe to your blog?

  charliesbird wrote @

ummm…I think there is a button to press somewhere?


Leave a Reply

