Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Sunrise

…and today the news was there. Gareth Cliff was presenting his final show. And I had a bit of a panicked moment. You see, I might have mentioned it before or if you know me, you will have noticed – I don’t like change, I really don’t. And for a long time now, my routine has been alarm goes off, radio on, catch the last of the really early show, then enjoy GC. And now that is about to change, and that has made me a little sad. I know change is inevitable, and it must happen, but it doesn’t stop the little sad part in my head.

Now, a bit of an ode to GC. When I first encountered GC on 5, I was enthralled by his dry wit and insights. Charlie never used to listen to the radio, preferring cds and mp3s instead, and slowly I even got him listening to the radio, and so we got to ‘know’ the radio persona of Mr Cliff (as much as anyone ‘knows’ a celeb). He was controversial; he was insightful and was never afraid to say the things that needed to be said. It often got him into trouble (BCCSA anyone?) and lost him a listener or 2. But I enjoyed and appreciated him. In fact I would go as far as saying he has been the voice of reason of my generation. He represents many of my beliefs and gets a chance to put them out there. For that I am grateful. I now know that I am not a lone opinion rattling in my own head, there are others like us out there, who share these opinions and thoughts. Whatever he does next will be great, I am sure, and I wish him well. I tweeted this morning that I hope he goes into politics, because at least then I’d have someone to vote for.

I just don’t think he realises what he has done to my morning routine, damnit! Who else is going to get me smiling on the way to work?

1 Comment»

  MamaCat wrote @

I too felt a bit of a pang. I had to come check it out on the internet to make sure I heard right. I try to console myself with the fact that I will get used to something else.


Leave a Reply

