Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Playing mom

… I have so many posts mulling in my head at the moment – there is the update on my diet/exercise/weight thing; there is the one about noses and their joints, there is the one about friendships; but I’ve settled on the one about being a mommy this morning.

So, with the end of term coming, Teacher Sal arranged a school outing to the local pizza joint and the aquarium. So at 9 this morning I headed off to school to fetch Thandi and off we went. We started at the aquarium, the children got to look at the fish in the tanks, then headed off for a penguin interaction. Thandi was very brave, sitting right next to the guy who was doing the talking, touching and stroking the penguin. She loved it! We looked at the seals – sadly their pool is being renovated, so there isn’t a show at the moment, but they were cute and curious as always.

Then it was off to the pizza parlour for a bit of playtime and pizza making session! The owners were awesome with the kids, giving them all sorts of funny instructions to make and decorate those pizza’s, and once they were out of the oven, the children gobbled them up. They went on a treasure hunt, to find some suckers and balloons, and then it was milkshake and home time. They had such fun. And I felt so privileged to share it with Thandi. I know there will be lots of school outings I won’t make, so it made this one even more special. And she was so chuffed when I rocked up at school – ‘MY MOMMY!’ she yelled, grabbing her bag and running towards me. What an angel! I really do try to make the most of our time together, but I do end up with a heavy heart sometimes – I miss out on so much; I know I can’t get this time back with her, and it is flying by… Saying that, it only makes my eyes leak to think about it too much, so I try not to. Hope she knows just how much I love her…

011 017 019 020 031 039 042

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

