Charlie's Bird

living the dream with Charlie and Thandi and chirping all the way back to the nest.

Playtime

..that’s what this weekend was about – playing! Which was awesome!

Friday evening I ran a 10km night race with a (very patient) MJ, she coaxed me through the run, even when I was really battling and ready to quit. Thanks, my friend! I ended up with so much pride in myself, that I am glad we did it, and even though my time was pathetic, knowing that I’d not quit and sat on the couch really made me smile!

Saturday was a poignant day – not really my story to tell, but we scattered the remaining ashes of my dad-in-law at sea. It was a perfect afternoon, the tide was high, the seas were beautiful and calm, and with a sprig of rosemary (for remembrance), a letter from Charlie to his dad and a tot of whisky,  we scattered them over the blue waters, to wherever the currents will now take him. It was a quietly moving afternoon, and one I will cherish for a long time. Thank you for sharing that moment with me, my love…

While we were at sea, Thandi played at Dawny and Pops’s house – played and swam and played and talked and played. We headed home and then went to our neighbours for dinner – Thandi and Becksy played up a storm, until it all went to hell in a handbag, someone was very tired, and had a total sense of humour failure – a frantic call to Noxy and we took her home, where she collapsed in a heap in her own bed.

Sunday was gorgeous! After an early rise, I ran down to the beach, met Charlie and the tribe there (Thandi and Noxy and Litha), after a quick splash about it was home for a rest, and then a fish braai with our German friends. Thandi and Charlotte played up a storm, swimming until their lips were blue, their teeth chattering and their fingers and toes prunified. We relaxed, and had a wonderful meal together, it was a good day! My girl collapsed in a heap, as did we, and not a thing stirred until this morning… Perfect!

And now the working week awaits! Have fun!

2 Comments»

  MJ wrote @

You have no idea what that Friday evening run did for my confidence, so I THANK YOU!

  Renee wrote @

Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend, as I did – very productive with scrapping my most beautiful grandson – just is so sweet and full of smiles. Best of luck with this week!


Leave a Reply

